The Three Branches of Our Government

The Three Branches of Our Government

  James Madison 1751-1836 4th President of the United States - stock photoJames Madison was the father of the United States Constitution as well as the Fourth President of the United States.  It was his idea to separate the powers of the Federal Government into three separate and equal branches: The Legislative Branch to make the laws. The Executive Branch to enforce the laws. And the Judicial Branch to interpret the laws.

He said that he got the idea from “The Perfect Governor” described in Isaiah 33:22:

“The Lord is our judge, the Lord is our lawgiver, the Lord is our king; he will save us.” 

Our three branches of government provide a system of checks and balances that keep us from being oppressed by our Federal government. Because as  James Madison very wisely observed, “The very definition of tyranny is when all powers are gathered under one place.”



Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *